Awards for High School Students


For over 40 years the Port Angeles Noon Club has given scholarships to local high school seniors. The scholarships are used to assist high school seniors in funding the continuation of their education at the college or vocational institution of their choice.

2018 Scholarship Award Winners

Star Awards

The Star Awards recognize juniors in high school for outstanding achievement in academics, arts, music, and vocational skills. 

STAR Recipients, Spring 2018

Awards for Women

Ruby Award

The Ruby Award honors the first federation president, Ruby Lee Minar.  This Award is for women,  who are not Soroptimists,  who have worked to improve the lives of women and girls in their communities through their professional and/or volunteer work.

Summer Evert:  2018 Ruby Award Winner

Live Your Dream Award (LYD)  

This award is for women with the primary financial responsibility for supporting their families (including children, spouse, siblings and /or parents), who are attending or have been accepted into  a vocational/skills training or an under-graduate degree program.  Applications are available on the Peninsula College Financial Aid web site during the Fall term.  The application deadline is November 15.

Nitasha Lewis, Live Your Dream, Regional Winner  2018

Ramona Valadez, Live Your Dream Winner, 2018  Club Level

Woman of Distinction

This award honors Soroptimist members who have made outstanding achievements in their professional, business or voluntary activities during the past 10 years.  They must have demonstrated exemplary character, integrity and leadership within the community and our club.  The activities upon which they are selected should relate to at least one of the following categories: Economic and Social Development, Education, Environment/Health, Human Rights and the Status of Women, and/or International Goodwill and Understanding.

 Woman of Distinction, 2018, Marge Pieratt

 Woman of Distinction (Past Recipients)

1987                             Kathy Northrop

1988                             Wendy Shea

1989                             Opal Ralston

1990                             Terry MacDonald

1991                             Joan Sargent

1992                             Jane Childers

1993                             Linda deBord

1995                             Rosalie Doty

1996                             Pili Meyer

1998                             Mary Gotham

2002                             Jeri Bawden

2005                             Rose Crumb

2007                             Liz Waud

2009                             Ida McKeown

2010                             Susie Breitbach

2012                             Margo Petersen Pruss

2013                             Lena Washke

2014                             Patty Gray

2015                             Lori Oakes

2017                             Gwyn Callis

2018                             Marge Pieratt